Age Limits for Body Piercing in each State

Piercings, no matter how fun and artistic they can be are one area of fashion that is uncharacteristically immersed in a significant deal of legality. Apparently, the government cares about who gets pierced, who gets to conduct the piercing procedure and perhaps more importantly, what age people start to board the piercings train.

Concerning the latter, there are actual regulations to guide against ‘premature piercings’ and depending on your state; this age restriction could extend well up to early adulthood. So, before you get that next piercing here’s a summary of US states’ legal piercing ages, so you don’t get caught up on the wrong side of the law.

Alabama

No minimum age requirement although it’s fair to note that minors will need a signed informed written consent from their guardians

Alaska

Like Alabama, there’s no minimum age requirement for piercings. Signed consent forms are mandatory for minors

Arizona

No age limitation but a parent or guardian must be present in the case of minors

Arkansas

Arkansas is the first on our list with a specified age limit, and it’s 16. Minors need both consent and parental presence

California

No age limit but again, minors need the physical presence of at least one parent/guardian

Colorado

The age limit here is 18 years. Minors will need express consent and the physical presence of their parents or guardian to get a piercing

Connecticut

No age limit and better still minors only need the permission of their parents

District of Columbia

Piercings are approved for adults aged 18 and above. Minors need written consent and its applicable only to ear piercings

Delaware

Age limit of 18 with notarized express consent from guardians

Florida

In Florida, the age limit is 16. For individuals younger than this, there’s a long list of requirements including; the presence of a guardian, proof of guardianship, photo IDs and a notarized consent form

Georgia

18 years and a consent form for minors

Hawaii

No age limit but minors will need a parent or guardian

Idaho

Anyone above the age of 14 can get a piercing here, other than that you’ll need a written consent form

Illinois

18 years and the written consent of a guardian for minors

Indiana

No specified age limit but a consent form plus the presence of a guardian for minors

Iowa

Only individuals aged 18 years and above can be pierced

Kansas

The age limit here is 16. Minors will need a notarized consent form plus the presence of a parent or guardian

Kentucky

No age limit although parents must sign a consent form for minors

Louisiana

16 and a consent form for anyone below that age

Maine

No age limits but legal consent from a guardian for minors

Maryland

No age limits. Minors require a consent form

Massachusetts

No age limits except for genital body piercings (18). Parent ID and consent form required for minors

Michigan

No age limits for piercings. Minors will need a consent form and the presence of a guardian

Mississippi

Piercings are legal for adults over 18

Missouri

No age limit specified. Consent form signed in the presence of the piercer for minors

Montana

No age limit but guardians must be present during the procedure and give express consent

Nevada

No applicable laws

New Hampshire

No age limit, however, guardians must sign a consent form and be present during the procedure

New Jersey

No age limits. Minors require a written consent form

New Mexico

Everyone is free to pierce, but minors must present a written consent form

New York

18 is the legal piercing age. Minors must provide a signed consent form

North Carolina

18 years and prior consent form from guardians for minors

North Dakota

No age limits. Written consent plus the presence of a guardian for minors

Ohio

The same requirements as North Dakota

Oklahoma

The legal age here is 18 years. Minors must be accompanied by a guardian with a written consent form

Oregon

18 years and written consent plus ID for minors

Pennsylvania

No specified age limits. Presence of guardian and a written consent form are required for minors

South Carolina

No age limits. Minors will, however, require a notarized consent form

South Dakota

No specified age limits. Minors will still need a consent form from their guardians

Tennessee

18 is the legal age. Minors wishing to have a piercing must be accompanied by a guardian with a signed consent form

Texas

Like South Dakota, the legal age is 18. A guardian with a signed affidavit must be present for minors

Utah

No specific regulation although parents must be present with a written consent form and proof of identity

Virginia

No age limits. Minors only require the presence of a guardian to get pierced

Washington

Only adults (over 18) can get pierced

West Virginia

No specific age limits. Minors will require a written consent form

Wisconsin

18 is the legal age. There’s no specific regulation guiding the piercing of minors

Wyoming

No specific age limitation. Minors only need the verbal consent of their guardians to get pierced.